OCPR Update: Get relief from the heat at Osage City Aquatic Center – Osage County Online | Osage County News

OCPR Update: Get relief from the heat at Osage City Aquatic Center

As summer flies by, Osage City Parks and Recreation is announcing its upcoming special hours for Osage City Aquatic Center beginning August 11. Other activities available are ongoing water aerobics and fifth and sixth-grade tackle football. OCPR is searching for a new at-large board member; applicant must be a resident of USD 420. See more details below.

Osage City Aquatic Center

  • August OCAC Pool Hours: August 11 to Labor Day, Saturday and Sunday, 1-6 p.m. (includes Labor Day).
  • Daily admission, $3 (age 4 and above).
  • Age 3 and below free.
  • Age 65 and over free.
  • OCAC swim pass booklets: On sale at Osage City Hall and are available for purchase at OCAC; 50 swim card booklet, $50.
  • Deck and pool rental reservation, Contact OCAC, 785-528-4225.

OCAC Water Aerobics

  • Tuesday and Thursdays, 6:45-7:45 p.m.
  • Continues through summer.
  • Water Aerobics Instructor, Marcy DeWitt.
  • Cost is $3 per class or one swim card.

5th-6th Grade Tackle Football

  • USD 420 students going into the 5th and 6th grade for the 2014-2015 school year.
  • Cost $75 per player.
  • Team meeting, July 28 (Mon), 7 p.m., Osage City Community Building.
  • Signup forms will be available at Osage City Hall or upon request.
  • For more information, contact Corey Linton at 785-528-4610 or [email protected].

Park Board Position Open

Osage City Parks and Recreation is looking for a volunteer to serve on the Parks and Recreation advisory board as an at-large board member. This is a 2-year term, with the option for a second 2-year term (if desired). Meetings are the third Thursday of each month. Applicant deadline is August 15, 2014. Applicants must live within the USD 420 school district to be eligible. Contact Corey Linton, 785-528-4610 or [email protected] for a civic board application.

Thank You!

OCPR would like to say thank you to the many volunteer youth baseball, softball, and t-ball coaches, OCAC staff, field supervisors and sports officials.

Youth Baseball

  • U6 Boys – Chris Mullins, Gerad Fagan, Phillip Curley, Adam Theel, Marrion Smith
  • U8 Boys – Tyler Parsons, Brooks Karns, Dave Williams, Mike Pitts, Andy Lohmeyer, Jason Bolyard, Dustin Hokanson
  • U10 Boys – Chris Kirkpatrick, Lucas Boss, Scott Brenner, Mike Fager, Shawn Crettol, Jay Bailey, Chris Croucher
  • U12 Boys – Matt Green, Jay Bailey, Rich Testerman, Brooks Karns, Robin Brown, Lori Reed
  • U15 Boys – Robbie Noble, Shawn Ogle, Dave Williams

Youth Softball

  • U6 Girls – Valarie Pitts, Josie Bosse
  • U8 Girls – Jodi Stark, Nancy Wessel, Shana Smith, Tracy :Lane, Jamy Dunbar
  • U10 Girls – Donna Butterfield, John Gill, Chris Croucher
  • U12 Girls – Will Kerns, Angie Gardner, Nancy Wessel
  • U15 Girls – Chris and Christy Calderwood


  • Jamie Theel, Becky Siljenberg, Jessi Kirkpatrick, Gerad Fagan, Corey and Amy Linton

OCAC Staff

  • Pool Manager – Lynn Tice, Amie Lohmeyer, and Jordan TIce
  • Lifeguard – Dalton Swindale, Kaitlin Swindale, Julie Nelson, Tracer Paul, Kate Garland, Jenika Burkert, Matthew Burkert, Pavin Cole, Duncan Fort, JT Lincoln, Tanner Kimball, Bailey May, Ryan Haskins, Katie Testerman, and Christian Stromgren
  • Concession Workers – Dena Paul, Kylie Haskins, Josi Garland, and Amy Gilliland
  • Swim Team Coaches – Cheryl Shaffer, Tracer Paul, Dalton Swindale, Kaitlin Swindale
  • Water Aerobics Instructor – Marcy DeWitt

Jones Park Ball Complex

  • Field Prep – Joe Serna
  • Field Supervisors – Brian Poertner and Scott Carson
  • Umpires – Lauren Poertner, Hannah Buenger, Gilbert Gonsalez, Cayla Lawless, Katelyn Robinson, Drake Whalen, Sarah Peterson, Kelsey Lawless, Jake Butterfield, Lance Hultgren, Kevin Thompson, Gene Wirsig, and Joe Serna

7 on 7 Football League

  • Teams – Osage City, Lyndon, Chase County, Council Grove, Mission Valley, Olpe, and Northern Heights.
  • Officials – Bryan Hallman, Brock Hallman, Ken Talkington, Troy Botkin, Dakota Sorenson, Ken Howell, Don Bauck, Gene Ohlman, Jason Goeckler, Terry Powell, JR Glenn, Clay Stone, Kurt Haberkorn, Nathan Neidhardt, and Wayne Osborn.

Jones Park Concession Groups

Foursquare Church (Karen Geen), Relay For Life (Cherity Kerns), Osage City PTA (Kyleigh Lohmeyer), Community Covenant Women (Dayna Cooley), OCHS Color Guard (Collene Stucky), Osage City Civic Sisters (Diane Scott), Osage City Chamber of Commerce, OCHS Volleyball Team (Amie Lohmeyer).

SEE OCPR ONLINE at www.osagecity.com
*Click City Departments, then Parks & Recreation for
Program information, printable signup forms, schedules and more!

Powered by WordPress