County EMS medical director recognized for commendable service


KEMSA President Dave Johnston presents a KEMSA award to Dr. Deb Smith, left.

Osage County EMS’s physician medical director, Deb Smith M.D., has been named the Kansas Emergency Medical Services Association Physician of the Year. Smith was presented the award Aug. 16, at the annual KEMSA conference. The award honors a Kansas licensed physician who provides commendable service to the benefit of EMS in Kansas.

Smith has served as the medical director for Osage County EMS since its inception in 2012, and for the dispatch center and first responder agencies in the county. Smith also serves as medical director for Osage County EMS’s sister services in Jackson and Atchison counties.

In addition to her profession as an anesthesiologist, Smith has a tremendous passion for emergency medical services, and has completed a transition course to become a Kansas certified paramedic. Smith is a past governor’s appointee to the Kansas Board of EMS.

Another staff member of Atchison County EMS was also recognized at the conference. Stacie Vandeweerd was named the KEMSA EMT of the Year, an award recognizing a Kansas EMT who has significantly contributed to EMS at the community, state or national level.

KEMSA hosted its 2014 annual EMS conference in Wichita, August 14-17, 2014. KEMSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to the improvement of EMS in Kansas.

Information and photo thanks to Osage County EMS.

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas