County’s top speller claims second spelling bee championship

Osage County’s top spellers display their awards and medals following Thursday’s countywide spelling bee at Scranton Attendance Center, front from left, Jada Seyler-Harting, Madison Cormode, Ariana Delaney, Addison Hinterweger, Mason Flickinger, Kaitlyn Moore, back, Riley Rowe, Matthew Mock, Kathryn Vaught, Cindy McClure, Cole Thomas, and Evan Young.

Nobody was “arrogant” and there were wasn’t a “guffaw” to be heard Thursday as a Carbondale sixth-grader claimed the title of Osage County Spelling Bee Champion for the second year in a row. But Addison Hinterweger, a student at Carbondale Attendance Center, spelled those two words in round 14 and 15 of the spelling bee to win the championship over runner up Ariana Delaney, a fourth-grader at Scranton Attendance Center.

The county spelling bee was hosted Jan. 29 by Scranton Attendance Center.


Addison Hinterweger, right, was the champion of the Osage County spelling bee, and Ariana Delaney, was runner-up.

Addison and Ariana began sparring following the elimination of all other spellers by round five of the bee. In round six, Ariana spelled “ammunition; Addison misspelled “boorish”. In the qualifying round, Ariana missed “cabal” and the contest continued: devotee, gung ho; jettison, foible; fluctuation, brethren; prolific, and Addison misspelled “slovenly”; Ariana misspelled “aqueduct”. Round 13, fragile, ruminate; then round 14 tripped up Ariana with “iteration” as Addison spelled “guffaw”. In the tense winning round, Addison precisely spelled “arrogant” for the championship.

It was the second year in a row for Addison to claim the championship title at the county spelling bee, which was hosted last year at Osage City. See story here.

Addison and Ariana will represent Osage County at the Capital-Journal Regional Spelling Bee March 7 at Seaman High School, Topeka.

Following Thursday’s bee, Scranton Attendance Center Principal Jennifer Hanni presented medals to all of the competitors and awarded the championship plaque to Addison and the runner up plaque to Ariana. Spectators and competitors were treated to refreshments in the school cafeteria afterward.

Competitors and top spellers at their schools were: Cole Thomas and Evan Young, Burlingame Elementary School; Madison Cormode and Kathryn Vaught, Marais des Cygnes Elementary School; Addison Hinterweger and Matthew Mock, Carbondale Attendance Center; Riley Rowe and Cindy McClure, Osage City Middle School; Kaitlyn Moore and Jada Seyler-Harting, Lyndon Elementary-Middle School; and Ariana Delaney and Mason Flickinger, Scranton Attendance Center.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas