Iowa barbecue chefs win their second Smoke in the Spring championship

For the second year in a row an Iowa couple has headed home as the grand champion barbecue cooks of Smoke in the Spring. Darren and Sherry Warth, of Iowa’s Smokey D’s BBQ, Des Moines, Iowa, won $3,600 in prize money in the April 11, 2015, Smoke in the Spring State BBQ Championship: $3,000 as grand champs, $250 for second place in pork ribs, $200 for third-place pork, and $150 for second place in the chicken category.


Smoke N Babes BBQ, Olathe, was the 2015 Smoke in the Spring reserve grand champions.

The reserve grand champion spot went to Smoke N Babes BBQ, Scott Townsend, Olathe, who won $1,500 plus took home another $250 from third place ribs, 11th place pork, and 12th place brisket.

Pellet Envy, Rod Gray, Leawood, won $750 for third place overall, plus $550 for first place brisket, and $100 for sixth place ribs.


Pellet Envy, Rod Gray, Leawood, left, who took third over all at Smoke in the Spring, receives his banner from Dave Azwell, barbecue judge coordinator.

Other top money winners included Lil Fiddlers, Willie Humphrey, Cleveland, Mo., $500 fourth overall, $150 fourth in ribs, plus another $50 for placing in top 14 in pork and brisket; Smokeaholics, fifth place, $250, plus $100 for ninth in ribs and pork; first place chicken winner Darkside BBQ, Bryan Harkin, Topeka, $550; first place ribs, R Butts R Smokin, Randy Robinett, Blue Springs, Mo. $550; first place pork, QSS Smokin, Charlie Grieco, Lenaxa; first in cook’s choice, Bad Ol’ Berns BBQ, Bernie Toso, Emporia, $250; first in dessert, 913 BBQ, David McCallister, Olathe, $250.

See official Kansas City Barbeque Society results here.

See related article here.






Corey Linton, Smoke in the Spring organizer, left, presents the grand champion banner to winners Darren and Sherry Warth, assisted by sponsor representative Christopher Staley, of Orbis Corp. and its employee engagement team.

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas