Silver Haired legislators take office after multi-county elections

OTTAWA, Kan. – Patricia Armstrong, of Osage County, will represent the county in the Silver Haired Legislature, after being the only candidate to file for the seat.

Elections were held last month for the Silver Haired Legislature in Kansas. The Kansas Silver Haired Legislature is a unicameral legislature composed of 125 representatives. All legislators are older than 60 and are elected from their county of residence.  Wyandotte, Johnson, Shawnee and Sedgwick counties have five additional delegates. The legislature provides an educational experience in the political process and provides opportunity to identify priority concerns of Kansas senior citizens. It develops bills and resolutions, which are presented to the Kansas Legislature and the governor as recommendations for state policy.

For the counties of Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, Linn, Miami and Osage, an election was held in Linn County. Osage County had only one new candidate who filed so an appointment was made for the empty seat. The other four counties had incumbent candidates without any other candidates filing for the seats so no elections were necessary. The Silver Haired Legislature representatives and their counties are: Anderson County, Clarence Hermann; Coffey County, Bill Otto; Franklin County, David Hood; Linn County, Jane Wade; Miami County, Collyn Peterson; and Osage County, Patricia Armstrong.

Senior citizens are encouraged to contact their Silver Haired Legislator with suggestions, concerns or questions regarding issues that interest them. For more information on the Silver Haired Legislature program, contact the East Central Kansas Area Agency on Aging at 785-242-7200 or 800-633-5621.

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas