Burlingame High School sends 27 graduates off to ‘take the higher road’

Burlingame High School graduating class of 2015. Photo by Keri Welch.

“When the opportunity presents itself, take that higher road and push yourself to succeed,” Burlingame High School valedictorian Jordan Herrick told fellow graduates during the graduation ceremony of the BHS class of 2015 on Saturday, May 16.

BHS salutatorian Karli Zabokrtsky said it seemed like the class had completed “an insurmountable task,” but thanked teachers, parents, and classmates for helping in the class’ accomplishments.

“We cannot succeed without the help of others,” Herrick agreed. “A great support system is what has gotten us here today.”

Herrick, who also addressed the audience as class president, encouraged classmates to measure their time at BHS through the friendships they’ve made.

“Wherever we go and whatever we do, may we always be friends when we meet again,” Herrick said.

Zabokrtsky concurred in her speech, “Let us be grateful for having each other as classmates and for the friendships we’ve developed over the years.”

Herrick also urged classmates to show appreciation for opportunities provided by all who supported them through the years.

“The best way we graduates can show our gratitude is to make the most of the opportunity we’ve been given,” Herrick said, “and go forward into the world with the intention of making it a better place.”

With presentation of 27 seniors by BHS Principal Tammy Baird, USD 454 Board of Education President Kris Kline accepted the Burlingame High School graduating class of 2015.

Board of education members presented diplomas to Jaccob Jarrett Carlson, Brianna Rae Cole, Katelynn Mariah Craig, Dalylah Kallii-Darcus Crouse, Alyssa Cecilia Delekta, Madeline Marie Fridley, Reagan Lynn Greenwood, Colton Leslie Hall, Jordan Rae Herrick, Levi Alan Hope, Kathryn Joanne Hutchins, Kendall James Johnson, Joseph Patrick Lewis, McKenzie Kaye McClenahan, Tristan Dean McIntosh, Makayla Lynn Mundy, Katheryne Hunter Pell, Matthew Alexander Percival, Kaylyn Claire Quaney, Nicole Marie Quaney, Daniel Alan Ricley, Breanna Mary Strohm, Miranda Lee Strohm, Brett Michael Swogger, Jacob Kirkpatrick Thompson, Kayela Marie Ullmer, and Karli Marie Zabokrtsky.

Sponsors of the BHS class of 2015 are Keri Welch and Tamara Buche.

Burlingame Junior-Senior High School 2014-2015 Academic Winners     

  • 1953 – Brianna Cole and Dalylah Crouse
  • ACC Scholarship Lucille Winder Scholarship – Katy Pell
  • American Legion Awards – Daniel Ricley, Joe Lewis, Jordan Herrick, and Breanna Strohm
  • Bobbie Taylor Humanitarian Award – Breanna Strohm and Regaan Greenwood
  • Burlingame Club Scholarship – Breanna Strohm
  • Burlingame Pride Organization – Breanna Strohm, Reagan Greenwood, and Kayela Ullmer
  • Burlingame Recreation Award – McKenzie McClenahan and Breanna Strohm
  • Chapter IQ PEO Scholarship – Kaylea Ullmer
  • Clayton Ramskill Memorial – Jordan Herrick  and Breanna Strohm
  • Dale Dennis Award – Jordan Herrick
  • Grandma Shirley Noonan Memorial – McKenzie McClenahan
  • High School Musicianship Award – Remi Zwink and Shelbie Peterson
  • Historical Society “We are the People” – Karli Zabokrstsky, Reagan Greenwood
  • John Philip Sousa Award – Breanna Strohm
  • Junior High Musicianship Award – Seth Greenwood, Briana Casto, Kelsie Quaney
  • Kansas Scholar –  Jordan Herrick
  • Kevin Masters Memorial Scholarships– Kaylyn Quaney, Nicole Quaney, Jordan Herrick,  and McKenzie McClenahan
  • Kevin Masters/ACC Endowment Scholarship – Jacob K. Thompson
  • KSHSAA Citizenship Award – 12th grade – Joe Lewis, Breanna Strohm, 8th grade – Seth Greenwood, and Kelsie Quaney
  • Leadership through Example Award – Cole Thomas and Grace Brooks
  • Mildred H. Dutton Award – Jordan Herrick
  • Outstanding Math and Science Student – Jordan Herrick
  • Outstanding Scholarship – Jordan Herrick
  • Patrick S. Gilmore Band Award – Daniel Ricley
  • Pepsi Scholarship: Jordan Herrick and Karli Zabokrtsky – $300
  • Rotary Club Scholarship – Makayla Mundy
  • Senior Band Member Award – Brianna Cole

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas