2015 Lyndon High School graduates: ‘You will be all right’

“Everything will be okay,” the 2015 graduating Lyndon High School seniors were assured by LHS valedictorian Autumn Weir during last Sunday’s commencement ceremony.

Weir reminded the crowd gathered at Lyndon High School on May 17, 2015, that though the world is destined toward disorder, “You do have control over how you react to all of the chaos the universe throws your way.”

She said life always presents obstacles, but she encouraged her classmates to face the challenges. “You have to keep your head up, and know that you can overcome them,” she said. “Do the best you can with the circumstances that you are given … you will make it through your crisis, and everything will be okay.”

Co-salutatorian Caroline Sprecker challenged the graduates to “slow down and appreciate today.” She reminded them that “every day is a gift, so be thankful for each new day that you are given … every day is a good day and life is what you make it.”

Co-salutatorian Flint Spencer remembered his class’ tendency toward bickering. “In spite of all of the arguments that erupted, we always got along at the end of the day,” he said.

Through the disagreements, though, the classmates were always nice to each other and worked together, which led to their successes, he said.

“We found a lot of success, both boys and girls. Success we carried right into high school,” Spencer said, noting “Our class became the most winning class in the history of Lyndon football.”

With presentation of the Lyndon High School senior class of 2015 by LHS Principal Brad Marcotte, members of the USD 421 Board of Education presented diplomas to the following graduates: Hunter Stephen Anderson, Shawn Junior Black, Jack Daniel Burgess, Alexa Rae Dorcas, Christopher Andrew Dunn, Craig James Dunn, Zachary Ryan Fehr, Jayda Lynn Forkenbrock, Amanda Cheyenne Gross, Jordan Elizabeth Hallgren, Justin Thomas Hallgren, Masie Lee Harsch, Sebastian James Jones, Gabriel Michael Leuszler, Taylor Leigh Martin, Alexis Hope McGonigle, Jeremy Michael Meyer, Ethan Douglas Payne, Joshua David Payne, Jessica Lucile Porter, Wyatt Joseph Reno, Shelby Kay Scheets, Flint Daniel Spencer, Caroline Laura Sprecker, Jesse Ryan Spurgeon, Kalie Nichole Stafford, Dawson Clark Swinehart, Autumn Jannae Weir, Cory James Wells, and Makaela Janae Wells.

Also during the ceremony, Marcotte recognized Caroline Sprecker and Joshua Payne as recipients of the KSHSAA Citizenship Award.

The 2015 senior class sponsors were Lori Catron and Teresa Fitch.

Photo thanks to Bill Patterson.

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas