Soybean growers get higher returns from high quality, high yielding crops

Quality increases profits for soybean farmers. While most Kansas producers don’t typically think about the oil and protein content of their soybeans having much impact on their bottom line, that’s certainly a misunderstanding.

Proof is verified with the premiums received by winners in the Kansas Soybean Oil and Protein Value Contest conducted by the Kansas Soybean Commission, the Kansas Soybean Association and K-State Research & Extension. Honored during awards presentations at the Kansas Soybean Expo in Topeka, Kansas JAG Ltd., Saline County, ranked first with a premium of 65.7 cents, making their soybeans valued at $9.31 a bushel. Kansas JAG Ltd. is operated by Mark Pettijohn and Dustin Conrad.

According to Raylen Phelon, Melvern, president of the Kansas Soybean Association, who presented the awards, “Their Pioneer 93Y72 entry had the highest oil score of 21.405 out of the 26 entries, making the soybeans also having the highest cash product oil value of $3.52,” Phelon said.

Second place award was accepted by Bob Henry, of Henry Farms, Inc., Brown County, for the Pioneer 35T58 entry which received a premium of 59.73 cents based on oil and protein value contest.

Roger Johnson, Sheridan County, took home the third place oil-protein value award for his Pioneer 93Y13 entry that netted a premium of 58.54 cents a bushel.

Highest yielding soybean crop in this year’s production contest was grown by Richard Seck of Reno County.

“His Pioneer 39T67 entry topped the statewide irrigated-no-till division en route to being the highest yielding crop in the state at 96.49 bushels per acre,” according to Phelon.

Planted in 7 1/2-inch rows on May 4, in upland soil that grew corn last year, Seck’s soybeans received 125 pounds of nitrogen and 12.5 pounds of sulfur, optimum herbicide, insecticide and fungicide applications, with 10.1 inches water from 15 irrigations of a center pivot.

Second in the statewide irrigated-no-till yield division went to Raymond DeBey, Osborne County, for his 84.97 bushels per acre yield of Pioneer 33T72R, produced on bottomland.

Third statewide irrigated-no-till award was received by Phil Hinton, Brown County, for his soybeans that yielded 84.51 bushels per acre.

Roger Johnson also topped the statewide irrigated-conventional-till yield competition with his 89.49 bushels per acre, followed by Mike Wessel, Decatur County, 87.46 bushels per acre, and third, Nancy Babcock and Ryan Patton, Brown County, 86.9 bushels per acre.

District no-till-dry winners included northwest, Ernie Schlatter, Smith County, 66.01 bushels per acre; east central no-till-dry, G&J Meats Farm & Ranch Inc., Coffey County, 70.14 bushels; north central, Rosebrook Farms, Lincoln County, 84.29 bushels; northeast, Chris Bodenhausen, Atchison County, 81.06; and north northeast Michael Oltjen, Brown County, 80.09.

Conventional-till-dry district winners were south central, Bruce Seiler, Harvey County, 73.31; southeast, Travis Miller, Wilson County, 79.4; east central, Meats Farms Inc., Coffey County, 69.71; north central, Curtis Kohman, Saline County; 64.48; northeast, Lance Rezac, Pottawatomie, 80.86; and north northeast, Jason Taylor, Doniphan County, 86.03.

030615-franksmug2Frank J. Buchman is a lifelong rancher from Alta Vista, a lifetime newspaper writer, syndicated national ag writer and a radio marketing consultant.

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas