Awards presented, members honored at MdCV FFA Chapter banquet – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Awards presented, members honored at MdCV FFA Chapter banquet

MdCV FFA and state FFA officers conferred at the annual banquet, from left, Kansas FFA Association president Karl Wilhem, Kali Holt, Dalton Hook, Leon Sluder, Josey Weimer, Chloe Volkman, Bonni Beery, Curtis Sowers, Kayden Dickey, Kansas FFA Association vice-president Bailey Peterson, and Zarin Goodrich. 

By Danny Rice, MdCV FFA Adviser

The annual Marais des Cygnes Valley FFA Chapter banquet was held April 15, 2016. Approximately, 90 people, including members, families and friends gathered in the MdCV school gymnasium for some good eating, door prizes, awards, and the installation of the 2016-2017 chapter officers.

The invocation by Dalton Hook was followed by dinner consisting of pulled pork, baked beans, side dishes and desserts brought by our members and their families. Then we handed out our door prizes from local businesses. Following the dinner, the chapter officers President Zarin Goodrich, Vice-President Curtis Sowers, Secretary Josey Weimer, Treasurer Bonni Beery, Reporter Kayden Dickey, Sentinel Leon Sluder and advisor student teacher Hannah Boehm began with opening ceremonies.

Kali Holt, chapter historian, introduced our special guest speaker, Bailey Peterson, the state FFA vice-president with her speech “being the best version of you”. Other guests included members of the USD 456 Board of Education, USD 456 Superintendent Darrel Finch, members of the MdCV Ag Education Advisory Board, Joe and Shirley Litchtenauer, Dale and Peggy McCurdy, and Jeff and Merrilyn Casten, and Karl Welhelm, Kansas FFA Association president.

After the guest speaker, Bonni Beery and Zarin Goodrich presented the chapter video showcasing the year’s activities. Then the chapter honored the Greenhand Degrees, which were awarded to Nocona Brinkley, Mariah Criss, Britney George, Johnny Goddard, Brookelyn Janssen, Alaina Marsh, Destiny Massey, Gannon Schimmel, Kathryn Vaught, and Chloe Volkman. There were two Star Greenhand that were awarded and they went to Chloe Volkman and Kathryn Vaught. Following the Greenhand Degrees, the Chapter Degree was awarded to Mayden Balcacer, H.B. Booth, Noah Criqui, Kali Holt, Dalton Hook, Brennan Irey, Chase Jones, Jevan Gregg, Daniel Siroky, and Josey Weimer.

Awards were given to members with outstanding Supervised Agriculture Experience Programs. The Proficiency Awards were given to Zarin Goodrich, ag ed intership, Leon Sluder, for sheep production and small animal production, and H.B. Booth, for swine production placement.

Each year, the Marais des Cygnes Valley FFA gives out scholarships to seniors attending a technical school, two-year college or four-year university, and this year’s recipients were Zarin Goodrich, Bonni Beery and Alexa Cox. Zarin Goodrich was also awarded the Lichtenauer Family Scholarship and the Hometown Agriculture Scholarship. The chapter recognizes outstanding individuals or businesses that go beyond to support the FFA Chapter. This year’s Blue and Gold Award went to Darrel Finch for his continued support of the agriculture education program and his effort in the future building of the agriculture education greenhouse, on which construction will begin this summer.

Danny Rice announced members that would be attending the Washington Leadership Conference in Washington, D.C., this summer. Scholarships are awarded through the Kansas FFA Foundation and from Jeremy and Emily Lehning, $1,300, Casten Family Memorial, $500, and this year an additional scholarship from Diversified Crop Insurance Services of $200. The recipient of the Lehning’s FFA foundation scholarship was Josey Weimer, and the recipient of the Casten Family Memorial and the Diversified Crop Insurance Service Scholarship was Kali Holt. Wrapping up the awards ceremony, the sweepstakes awards were given to Josey Weimer, first place; Leon Sluder, second place; and Brookelyn Janssen, third place.

As the chapter banquet came to a close, it was time to install the 2016-2017 MdCV chapter officers. The new officers are: President Curtis Sowers, Vice-President Kayden Dickey, Secretary Josey Weimer, Treasurer Dalton Hook , Reporter Leon Sluder, Sentinel Chloe Volkman, Historian Kali Holt, and Student Council representative Kathryn Vaught.

Author’s note: We would like to thank the businesses and people who donated door prizes, Peggy and Dale McCurdy for donating the sandwich buns, and Jenise and Don Hook for sponsoring the pulled pork. Special thanks go to everyone who came to support our MdCV FFA Chapter.

Powered by WordPress