State senator honors Osage City championship basketball team – Osage County Online | Osage County News

State senator honors Osage City championship basketball team

State Sen. Anthony Hensley reads a resolution on the Senate floor honoring the OCHS basketball team.

The Kansas Legislature reconvened Wednesday for the 2016 veto session, but before work began, state Sen. Anthony Hensley honored the Osage City High School boys’ basketball team’s 2016 KSHSAA Class 3A State Basketball Championship. Hensley introduced a resolution on the floor, congratulating and commending the team and coach Dennis Fort for winning the championship.

The resolution noted the team won the championship with a 56-49 victory over Sabetha High School in the state championship game at the Hutchinson Sports Arena on March 12, 2016, and to get to the championship game, the number one-seeded Osage City Indians defeated Wellsville 60-44 in the quarterfinal game and Gypsum-Southeast of Saline 74-45 in the semifinal game. Also noted was the Indians’ season record of 25 wins and 1 loss, and that it was the third time in the school’s history the team had won the state title. The school had previously won the 3A state title in 2000 and the Class B state title in 1965.

The resolution listed the championship team members as Derrick Cooley, Jason Cooley, Duncan Fort, Ryan Haskins, Kaleb Irvin, Zach Irvin, Tucker Kimball, Peyton Pearson, Trenton Plinsky, Brett Sage, Joe Schemm, Carter Swindale and Tyson Wilkins; head coach Duncan Fort, and assistant coaches James Bellinger and Jordan Tice.

Copies of the resolution will be given to team members and USD 420 Superintendent Troy Hutton and Osage City High School Principal Tony Heward.


Sen. Hensley presents a Senate resolution honoring the 2016 KSHSAA Class 3A State Basketball Champions, the Osage City High School Indians.

See the text of the resolution here.

Photos thanks to Sen. Hensley’s office.

Powered by WordPress