‘We Kan!’ Byways, agritourism promotion wins statewide recognition – Osage County Online | Osage County News

‘We Kan!’ Byways, agritourism promotion wins statewide recognition

Marci Penner, left, presents a We Kan! Award plate to Sue Stringer.

Marci Penner, left, presents a We Kan! Award plate to Sue Stringer, at the Kansas Sampler.

Osage County resident Sue Stringer, Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism byways and agritourism manager, has received a 2016 We Kan! Award for her work in promoting tourism in the state.

Stringer, of Quenemo, was among the 24th annual We Kan! award winners announced May 7, 2016, at the Kansas Sampler Festival, in Winfield. The awards are given to the Kansas Sampler Foundation as appreciation for dedicated work in helping preserve and sustain rural culture.

Sampler Foundation director Marci Penner said, “Each year it is our pleasure to recognize 10 people who do a great deal to keep our state moving forward.”

Stringer was recognized for KDWPT’s Toutin’ Kansas! program, which promotes Kansas byways and agritourism. Other 2016 award winners were: Jane Brophy, Cheering for Chanute, Chanute Area Chamber of Commerce and Office of Tourism; Shari Butler, Passion for the Grassland, Cimarron National Grassland, Elkhart; Sarah Green, Doing Democracy, Wichita; Bridgette Jobe, Seeing the Big Picture, Kansas City Convention and Visitors Bureau; Liz King, Designed Generosity, Liz King Design, Park City, Utah; Ken and Shirley McClintock, Making History Delicious, Trail Days Cafe and Museum, Council Grove; Larry and Jan Olson, Stumpin’ for RV Parks and Campgrounds, Kansas RV Parks and Travel, Hill City; Andrea Springer and Steve Snook, Good Thinkers for Kansas, Hutchinson; Adam Wagner, You’ve Been Good for Kansas, Twilight Theatre, Greensburg.

The awards plates were made by Elk Falls Pottery. To see a list of all We Kan! award winner, visit www.kansassampler.org.

Powered by WordPress