Minding Ps and Qs: Lowery wins county spelling bee

Competitors in the Osage County spelling bee display medals awarded for their orthography skills Friday at Santa Fe Trail High School. Aurora Lowery, center with plaque, claimed the 2017 championship title, with Ariana Delaney, third from right with plaque, winning runner-up.

CARBONDALE, Kan. – Blowing into the championship round on a “hurricane”, Osage City middle-schooler Aurora Lowery applied a little brain “protein” to win the Osage County Spelling Bee, Friday morning at Santa Fe Trail High School.

Nine competitors from the county’s five schools stood at the podium Feb. 3, 2017, to vie the title of champion speller of Osage County, and to represent the county at the upcoming state spelling bee.

The county’s top spellers won their spot at the county bee by being winners or runner ups of their school competitions. Representing their schools were: Araydia Preston, Burlingame; Samantha Cole and Maddie Weece, Lyndon; Jorjia Kitselman and Colby Vogeler, Marais des Cygnes Valley; Aurora Lowery and Auralee Pritchard, Osage City; and Ariana Delaney and Kendalan VanCamp, Santa Fe Trail.

Friday’s bee was organized by Carbondale Attendance Center teachers Gretta Hug and Allison Folger, who pronounced the words.

After a practice round, at least one speller was ejected per round until round five when it became a three-way race between Ariana Delaney, Colby Vogeler, and Aurora Lowery. In round six, Vogeler was knocked out on “seersucker”, while Delaney advanced on “hassock” and Lowery on “threshold”. Round seven, Delaney “haversack”, Lowery “loam”. Then in round eight, Delaney tripped up on the international unit of force “newton”, leaving Lowery to spell “hurricane” to win the round, and then “protein” to claim the title of 2017 Osage County spelling champion.

Lowery and runner-up Delaney will represent Osage County at the state spelling bee March 4, 2017, at Shawnee Heights High School, Tecumseh, Kan.


Competitors in the 2017 Osage County spelling bee, from left, Araydia Preston, Samantha Cole, Jorjia Kitselman, Colby Vogeler, Aurora Lowery, Maddie Weece, Ariana Delaney, Auralee Pritchard, and Kendalan VanCamp.

See more Osage County News photos from the spelling bee here.

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas