OCHS Class of 2017 takes the best from the past and heads toward the future – Osage County Online | Osage County News

OCHS Class of 2017 takes the best from the past and heads toward the future

Citing the Osage City High School Class of 2017’s class motto, a Bob Dylan quote, “You should always take the best from the past, leave the worst back there and go forward into the future,” honor student Amanda Pritchard reminded her fellow graduates during Sunday’s commencement, May 14, 2017, that their years of learning were now memories.

“All of you have had some wonderful memories, and though each of us may go our own direction, I hope that these times are something that you treasure and remember for years to come,” said Pritchard, noting her memories were of the family formed by the class.

“As I look out here, Class of 2017, know that I see future engineers, nurses, businessmen and women, and many other careers,” she said. “But more importantly, I see hard workers, achievers, smiling faces, good friends, and better, a family.”

OCHS honor student Trey Tomlinson echoed Pritchard’s comments, saying, “These memories, no matter how minute, all serve as an adhesive that inexplicably binds us all to one another.”

Tomlinson encouraged his 34 fellow classmates “to take a moment in order to reflect upon everything that we have accomplished in our short time as Indians. Take the time to truly appreciate all of the opportunities and the memories that we have all been granted and shared.”

He advised that with their memories and knowledge, they can help shape the future of their choosing.

“Wherever our path may diverge, I urge you all to remember and to stay true to who you are,” Tomlinson said. “And don’t be afraid of dreaming too big for any dream can be made a reality with enough innovation and faith. So don’t lose hope or your path, in doing so, success is within our reach.”

OCHS Principal Tony Heward presented the class for graduation, and USD 420 Board Member Dianne Scott presented diplomas to the 2017 OCHS graduates: Marissa Kay Adkins, Bailey Jo Barranco, Jonathan Allen Blaylock, Joseph Allen Blaylock, Claire Danielle Boyce, Acelynn Cheyanne Brooks, Larry Wayne Burcham, Jason Kyle Cooley, Richard Brian Corley, Shelby Renee Davidson, Connor Joseph Fagan, Abigail Carol Gibbons, Shaelyn Mae Gifford, Baeh Courtney Gill, Alexzander Timothy Greene, Casey Alexander Linebarger, Genevieve Dawn Lowery, Travis John Carey Martin, Jaime Ross McKenzie, Justin Evans Melgren, Hannah Moriah Mondragon, Makaela Louise Nicholson, Brady Aaron-Lee Ogle, Kelsy Ann Orender, Kodie Ann Otterness, Amanda Lyn Pritchard, Brett Reo Sage, Jarod Michael Stevens, Susan Gene Stromgren, Sarah Anne Thompson, Trey Douglas Tomlinson, Paris Renee Vigil, David J. Wells, Cattani Aletha Whalen, and Tracy Ellen Wilk.

During the commencement, National Honor Society members were recognized as follows: Tracy Ellen Wilk, president, Amanda Lyn Pritchard, vice president, Genevieve Dawn Lowery, secretary, Susan Gene Stromgren, historian, Baeh Courtney Gill, Alexandra Jo Schwieger, Brett Reo Sage, and Trey Douglas Tomlinson.

Amanda Pritchard and Trey Tomlinson were recognized as honor students upon on completion of the Kansas Board of Regents Scholars Curriculum, with both graduating Summa Cum Laude, with a grade point average of 4.0.

USD 420 Board of Education members are Cindy Cook, Mike Pitts, Ray Lauber Diane Scott, Sarah Peterson, David Williams, and Todd Peterson. USD 420 Superintendent of Schools is Troy Hutton.

During an awards ceremony held May 3, 2017, the following awards and honors for the 2017 graduates were announced:

  • American Legion Scholarship and School Awards: Tracy Wilk, $250; Genevieve Lowery, Tracy Wilk, Brett Sage and Trey Tomlinson, Citizenship and Patriotism Awarda
  • American Legion Auxiliary Scholarship: Tracy Wilk, $250.
  • Eagles and Eagles Auxiliary 3890 Scholarship: Paris Vigil, $300.
  • Osage City High School Alumni Association Scholarship: Susan Stromgren, $500.
  • Daphne Davies Memorial Scholarship: Amanda Pritchard, $300.
  • FCA Scholarship: Paris Vigil, $250.
  • Kay Haskins Memorial Scholarship: Paris Vigil, $200; Trey Tomlinson, $200; Jason Cooley, $200.
  • Conrad Carlson Memorial Scholarship: Jason Cooley, Brett Sage and Trey Tomlinson, $200.
  • Chapter IQ PEO Scholarship: Tracy Wilk, $400.
  • Sorosis Club Scholarship: Amanda Pritchard, $400.
  • Orbis Scholarship: Jamie McKenzie, $100.
  • Kiwanis Club Scholarship and Academic Awards: Amanda Pritchard, $500, Tracy Wilk, $500 (Ken Kern’s Memorial); Trey Tomlinson, $500 (Richard Dick Allison Memorial).
  • Booster Club Scholarship: Brett Sage $200; Tracy Wilk $200.
  • Lions Club Scholarship: Connor Fagan, $500; Cattani Whalen, $500.
  • R.E. French Family Educational Foundation Scholarship: Baeh Gill, Genevieve Lowery, Trey Tomlinson and Tracy Wilk, $2,000.
  • Chamber of Commerce Scholarship: Trey Tomlinson, $250; Tracy Wilk, $250.
  • Spanish Club Scholarship: Genevieve Lowery, $100; Amanda Pritchard, $100.
  • Kansas Board of Regents Awards: Marissa Adkins, Amanda Pritchard, Brett Sage, Trey Tomlinson, Tracy Wilk.
  • Community Service Award: Tracy Wilk, 94 hours.
  • College scholarships: Trey Tomlinson, Merit Scholarship, WSU; Susan Stromgren, Farm Bureau and Alumni Scholarship and Stormont Vail Foundation Scholarship, Baker University; Genevieve Lowery, Presidential Scholarship, ESU; Tracy Wilk, academic scholarship, Colby Community College; Ashley Lewis, vocal music scholarship, ESU; Kelsy Orender, athletic scholarship, Johnson County Community College.
  • Citizenship Awards: Paris Vigil and Brett Sage.
  • Honor Student Recognition Certificates: Trey Tomlinson, Summa Cum Laude; Amanda Pritchard, Summa Cum Laude.

Photo thanks to OCHS.

Powered by WordPress