Kansas seat belt fine increases July 1, 2017

TOPEKA, Kan. – On July 1, 2017, the fine for not wearing a seat belt in Kansas will raise to $30, from the $10 it has been since June 2011. This change is for the fine for those 18 years and older who are not wearing their seat belt. There will be no court costs on the citations for violation of this law. The fine increase was just passed during the last legislative session, as part of Senate Bill 89.

Kansas has had a primary seat belt law since June of 2010. Prior to 2010, it was a secondary violation for the drivers or front seat passengers to not be wearing their seat belt, meaning drivers could not be pulled over for a seat belt violation. In 2010, the requirement was also added that adult passengers in the backseat of vehicles must be buckled, however that still remains a secondary violation.

Information thanks to Kansas Highway Patrol.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | news@osagecountyonline.com | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas