4th Judicial District Nominating Commission to interview nominees for district judge vacancy – Osage County Online | Osage County News

4th Judicial District Nominating Commission to interview nominees for district judge vacancy

TOPEKA, Kan. – The 4th Judicial Nominating Commission will convene at 9 a.m. Thursday, Dec. 7, 2017, in the Coffey County Courthouse, Burlington, Kan., to interview nominees to fill a district judge vacancy in Coffey County created by the Nov. 30 retirement of Judge Phillip M. Fromme.

The nominees are Samuel R. Feather, Topeka; Meghan K. Morgan, Burlington; Darrel L. Smith, Emporia; and Taylor J. Wine, Lyndon. Interviews are open to the public. The 4th Judicial District is composed of Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, and Osage counties.

The commission will select at least three nominees whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. If there are not two nominees who reside in the district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the judicial district. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.

Nominees for district judge must be at least 30 years old, a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school, and a resident of Coffey County at the time of taking office and while holding office.

The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Kansas Supreme Court Justice Eric Rosen as the nonvoting chair, James R. Campbell and Jim H. Dale, both of Burlington, Craig E. Cole, Garnett, Janet C. Walsh, Lyndon, Thomas B. DeBaun, Osage City, Forrest A. Lowry, Ottawa, and Eugene E. Highberger, Westphalia. 

Information thanks to the Kansas Office of Judicial Administration.

Powered by WordPress