4th Judicial District seeks nominees for Osage County district magistrate judge – Osage County Online | Osage County News

4th Judicial District seeks nominees for Osage County district magistrate judge

TOPEKA, Kan. – The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission is seeking nominations to fill a district magistrate judge vacancy in Osage County.

The former district magistrate judge, Taylor J. Wine, was appointed district judge and chief judge of the 4th Judicial District, which is composed of Anderson, Coffey, Franklin and Osage counties.

Justice Eric S. Rosen, the Supreme Court departmental justice responsible for the 4th Judicial District, said nominees can apply or be nominated, but it must be on a nomination form and include the nominee’s signature.

A nominee for district magistrate judge must be a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; a resident of Osage County at the time of taking office and while holding office; and either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas, or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court and to become certified within 18 months.

Nominations must be accompanied by a nomination form available from the clerk of the district court in Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, or Osage counties; the clerk of the appellate courts at the Kansas Judicial Center; or the Kansas judicial branch website at www.kscourts.org under What’s New.

The nominating commission will convene to interview nominees at 9 a.m. Wednesday, May 9, in the Osage County Courthouse, 717 Topeka Ave., Lyndon. Interviews are open to the public. The commission will then appoint a district magistrate judge. After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Rosen, nonvoting chair, Janet Walsh, commission secretary, Lyndon, James R. Campbell, Burlington, Jim H. Dale, Burlington, Craig E. Cole, Garnett, Thomas B. DeBaun, Osage City, John A. Holmes, Ottawa, Forrest A. Lowry, Ottawa, and Eugene E. Highberger, Westphalia.

Information thanks to Kansas Office of Judicial Administration.

Powered by WordPress