MdCV FFA celebrates year of successes with annual banquet

New and retiring officers of the MdCV FFA include, front from left, Josey Weimer, Kali Holt, Brookelyn Janssen, Chloe Volkman, Bayleigh Lacey, Kathryn Vaught, Alaina Marsh, Grace Bradely; back, Frank Warner, Dalton Hook, and Koby Vanderpool.

By Grace Bradley

On Thursday, April 12, 2018, the Marais des Cygnes Valley FFA chapter hosted its annual chapter banquet at the Melvern Community Center. Chapter treasurer Kali Holt opened the banquet with the invocation, which was then followed by the yearly potluck dinner.

This year’s president, Josey Weimer, spoke on behalf of the chapter in welcoming everyone to the banquet and thanking the chapter for a year full of achievements and plenty of activities that kept the MdCV chapter busy.

Sharon Thielen was keynote speaker at the MdCV FFA banquet.

Chloe Volkman, MdCV FFA secretary,  introduced this year’s guest speaker, Sharon Thielen, an MdCV graduate and former FFA member. Thielen spoke about how FFA played a major role in influencing the career path she chose to take on and how the lessons she learned through FFA were lessons she will continue to pass on. Thielen’s message not only spoke to the FFA kids in the room but it spoke to the adults in the room as well. Her main lesson to the crowd was, “To never skip a step.” Meaning, do not just jump to the good parts of life, take every step, even the tough ones.

The banquet gives chapter advisor Danny Rice a chance every year to recognize the personal achievements of the FFA students, and announce scholarships awarded to senior members. For the class of 2018, senior Jevan Gregg received the Hometown Agriculture Scholarship. The Don Lichtenauer Family Scholarship was awarded to Dalton Hook, who also received the Marais des Cygnes Valley FFA Scholarship along with Josey Weimer and Kali Holt. Scholarships were also awarded to three sophomores who will be attending the Washington Leadership Conference in June that is held in Washington, D.C. Bayleigh Lacey and Grace Bradley were awarded the Lehning Scholarship, and receiving the Casten Memorial Scholarship was Kaelin Criqui.

Over the course of the year students accumulate points by participating in activities for the sweepstakes award. This year the top five winners were Kali Holt, Bayleigh Lacey, Chloe Volkman, Kaelin Criqui, and Josey Weimer. For the Greenhands, the winners were Colby Vogeler, Izzy Toman, and Sadie McGowin. The Proficiency Award winners for this school year were Dalton Hook in beef production, Josey Weimer in outdoor recreation, and Kali Holt in veterinary science. Each year two Star Greenhands are chosen for the integrity and work they put into excelling in the FFA program – this year Sadie McGowin and Izzy Toman were chosen as the chapter’s star Greenhands.

One of the highest honors in the Kansas FFA Association is the State Degree. Only three percent of the state’s membership are awarded this honor. Three MdCV FFA members were given this honor recognizing their outstanding involvement in the FFA: Josey Weimer, Dalton Hook and Kali Holt.

Closing the night was the announcement of the 2018-2019 officer team. Each student went through the same process which included an application, test and interview. The former officers each announced who would be replacing them in the next school year and each new officer was inducted into their new position. The newly elected officers are: Koby Vanderpool, student council representative, Frank Warner, historian, Alaina Marsh, sentinel, Grace Bradley, reporter, Bayleigh Lacey, treasurer, Kathryn Vaught, secretary, Brookelyn Janssen, vice president, and serving the FFA chapter as the 2018-2019 president is Chloe Volkman.

The new officer team was given the opportunity to close the banquet and all are excited to get to planning for next year.

Receiving Greenhand Degrees were, from left, Brice Marsh, Colby Vogeler, and Sadie McGowin.

State FFA Degrees were presented to Josey Weimer, Dalton Hook, and Kali Holt.

Honored with Chapter Degrees were, from left, Grace Bradley, Steven Clower, Kaelin Criqui, Carson Jones, Tristen Duncan, Bayleigh Lacey, Haylee Miles, Koby Vanderpool, and Frank Warner.

Photos thanks to MdCV FFA.

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas