Osage City lawyer selected as district magistrate judge in Osage County

LYNDON, Kan. – The 4th Judicial District nominating commission has selected Osage City lawyer Shannon Rush to fill a magistrate judge vacancy in Osage County, Kan.

The commission conducted public interviews of nominees for the position May 9 in Lyndon. Five people had applied for the opening.

Rush’s new position will be effective upon her swearing-in. She was in private practice with Coffman & Campbell, Burlington.

The 4th Judicial District is composed of Osage, Anderson, Franklin and Coffey counties. The vacancy was created when former magistrate judge Taylor Wine was appointed district judge and chief judge of the 4th Judicial District.

Kansas law requires that a magistrate judge be a resident of the county at the time of swearing-in and while serving; be at least 30 years old; have graduated from a high school, secondary school, or the equivalent; and either be a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or pass an examination given by the Kansas Supreme Court and become certified within 18 months.

After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

Supreme Court Justice Eric Rosen is the nonvoting chair of the 4th Judicial District nominating commission. Members are Heather Landon, Baldwin City, Jim H. Dale, Burlington, Craig E. Cole, Garnett, Janet Walsh, Lyndon, Thomas B. DeBaun, Osage City, John A. Holmes and Forrest A. Lowry, Ottawa, and Eugene E. Highberger, Westphalia.

Information thanks to the Kansas Office of Judicial Administration.

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas