Marais des Cygnes Valley FFA officers attend state convention

MdCV FFA members work on a service project during the FFA convention, packing meals for hunger programs, from left, Bayleigh Lacey, Grace Bradley, Koby Vanderpool, Alaina Marsh, and Frank Warner. Courtesy photo.

By Grace Bradley
MdCV FFA Reporter

The Marais des Cygnes Valley FFA officer team attended the 90th annual Kansas State FFA Convention in Manhattan, Kan., May 30 through June 1, 2018. This year’s convention theme was titled “I Can, We Will.” The Kansas FFA had around 2,000 members in attendance from 199 chapters for the convention.

The officer team attended leadership workshops, convention sessions, and a career fair to help get them inspired and motivated for the coming school year. MdCV FFA President Chloe Volkman and Vice-President Brookelyn Janssen also served as delegates at the convention.

State delegates Chloe Volkman and Brookelyn Janssen represent MdCV FFA.

The members were able to speak with each other and bounce around ideas for things their chapter can do to grow their membership numbers. There were many speakers at the convention sessions including the state officers and motivational speakers from across the country including Sonny Perdue, U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, Dr. Randy Watson, Kansas Education Commissioner, and past state officer Melissa Hildebrand-Reed, of Hildebrand Farms Dairy.

MdCV FFA members also participated in the national program “Something to Eat-Food Packaging Event” which members packed healthy, easy-to-prepare meals to be given out to hunger relief groups across Kansas.  

Some of MdCV FFA’s own members were recognized for various awards and scholarships they received at the convention. Bayleigh Lacey, Grace Bradley, and Kaelin Criqui each received a scholarship to attend the Washington Leadership Conference June 12-17, 2018, in Washington, D.C. Seniors Dalton Hook, Kali Holt, and Josey Weimer each received state degrees on the last day of the convention. The chapter as a whole also received the Kansas Farm Bureau community grant.

MdCV FFA officers attending the convention were Grace Bradley, Alaina Marsh, Brookelyn Janssen, Frank Warner, Koby Vanderpool, Bayleigh Lacey, and Chloe Volkman.

The officers are looking forward to another productive and motivating year for the chapter, school and community.

MdCV FFA 2018 officers, front from left, Bayleigh Lacey, Alaina Marsh, Grace Bradley; back, Koby Vanderpool, Brookelyn Janssen, Josey Weimer, Chloe Volkman, and Frank Warner. Courtesy photo.

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas