Osage City Elementary School accepts the challenge; honored as ‘great school’

Accepting the Challenge Award from Kansas State Board of Education Member Ann Mah, left, are Osage City Elementary School teachers Jessi Kirkpatrick, Amie Parsons, and Brian Stromgren.

OSAGE CITY, Kan. – Kansas State Board of Education Member Ann Mah recognized students and teachers at Osage City Elementary School for making differences in student achievement over the past year, during a presentation April 30, 2019, at the school.

“I’m here today to present your school an award called the Challenge Award,” Mah told students gathered in the school gymnasium for the early morning assembly. “Last year you scored great on tests in reading and in math, and in coming to school – in your attendance.”

The Challenge Awards program, administered by the Confidence in Education Task Force, recognizes Kansas schools that are making a notable difference in student achievement despite facing significant challenges in their school population.

“We believe in you,” Mah said. “Confidence in Public Education believes in Osage City Elementary School.”

“How many of you try to come to school every day? And why do you do that? Because it’s so important to be in school every day, you can’t learn if you’re not here. You also study and you do well and you excel, and you met the challenge last year of being one of the top schools in Kansas.

“How many knew Osage City Elementary School was a great school?” Mah asked the crowd. “Now the rest of the state of Kansas knows that as well.”

The Confidence in Education Task Force’s mission is to strengthen confidence in and positive awareness of Kansas public education. The Challenge Awards have been seen as motivation for students and teachers to reach for even higher levels of performance.

The award selection process uses a statistical model that includes 2018 math and reading state assessments scores, percent of the sample that received free or reduced-priced lunch, percentage of students of an ethnic minority, graduation rates and chronic absenteeism. The top 200 Kansas schools are then selected.

From left, Ann Mah, Jessi Kirkpatrick, Amie Parsons, and Brian Stromgren

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas