Osage City graduate earns sheriff’s association scholarship

An Osage City High School graduate has won one of 16 $1,000 awards presented by the Kansas Sheriffs Association in educational scholarships to eligible members or family members.

Winning one of the $1,000 scholarships for 2019 is Kaitlyn Farmer. Kaitlyn recently graduated from Osage City High School and plans on attending Washburn University. Her application was sponsored by her father Scott Farmer.

The eight-member scholarship committee, chaired by Logan County Sheriff Pat Parsons, receive the written applications and conduct interviews with all applicants.  This year 16 $1,000 awards were issued along with the $2,000 Sheriff Matt Samuels Award. Samuels was killed in the line of duty on Jan. 19, 2005, after which a scholarship was established in his honor.

Contact us: Osage County News | P.O. Box 62, Lyndon, KS 66451 | [email protected] | 785-828-4994 | Powered by Osage County, Kansas