Ottawa University awards Costlow prestigious Presidential Scholarship – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Ottawa University awards Costlow prestigious Presidential Scholarship

OTTAWA, Kan. – Ottawa University announced that Otis Costlow, of Overbrook, Kan., is the recipient of one of three Presidential Scholarships awarded for the 2019-20 academic year.

Costlow is the son of Michael and Laurie Costlow, of Overbrook. He is starting his freshman year at OU’s Ottawa, Kan., residential campus.

Presidential Scholars receive a full-tuition scholarship, as well as other benefits and honors, during their four-year educational tenure at OU, a value of at least $120,000. The recipient will be required to continue his or her academic and leadership excellence throughout that time. 

Scholarship competitors were selected based on academic criteria (3.5 or higher GPA, 25 or higher ACT score, top 1/3 of class) and portfolios submitted prior to the competition. Following on-campus essays and panel interviews, the three Presidential Scholarships winners were chosen.

“The Presidential Scholarship is the most prestigious of any Ottawa University offers its students,” said Dr. Reggies Wenyika, president of the University’s Kansas campus, who was personally involved in the selection process. “Recipients are more than just outstanding scholars, as they are expected to distinguish themselves as leaders in many facets of student life. We are proud to say that many of our previous Presidential Scholarship winners have gone on to exceptional careers in business, human services, the arts, education, and numerous other fields.”

Presidential scholarship recipients are also eligible for financial assistance up to $2,500 for a school sponsored travel abroad experience after the scholar’s second year of academic study.

Powered by WordPress