Breshears takes oath, dons robe of Osage County magistrate judge – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Breshears takes oath, dons robe of Osage County magistrate judge

Franklin County District Court Judge Douglas Witteman swears in Lori Breshears, surrounded by her family, as Osage County magistrate judge, May 7, 2021, at the Osage County Courthouse.

LYNDON, Kan. – Osage County officially has a new magistrate judge, with Lori Breshears sworn into the position Friday, May 7, 2021, at the Osage County Courthouse, Lyndon, Kan.

Breshears was nominated for the position by the 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission, which made the selection April 6 after meeting with nominees.

Breshears previously served as a paralegal and victim witness coordinator for the Coffey County Attorney’s Office, Burlington, Kan. The magistrate judge vacancy was created by Shannon Rush’s resignation Feb. 1.

Conducting the swearing-in was Franklin County District Court Judge Douglas Witteman, who had previously worked with Breshears while he served as Coffey County Attorney.

Witteman said Breshears had conferred with him before she applied for the judge position “and I encouraged her to do so.”

Witteman said Breshears’ experience in the court system had made her “very qualified” to be a magistrate judge. “She has not only gained the general wisdom of being around a courtroom, she also has the wisdom that comes with raising kids,” noting Breshears’ family members present for the swearing-in.

“I am very happy to see your success,” Witteman said. “She will be a great magistrate judge.”

Breshears said she was “incredibly honored” to be selected for the position, saying she had learned from the best. She specifically noted her time of working with retired Chief Judge Phillip Fromme, who had written a recommendation letter for Breshears’ nomination.

Kansas law does not require magistrate judges to be lawyers, but requires them to pass an examination given by the Kansas Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months. The Osage County magistrate judge is required to live in Osage County while holding office.

After serving one year in office, Breshears must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position for a four-year term.

The 4th Judicial District includes Anderson, Coffey, Franklin and Osage counties.

Fourth Judicial District Judges – Chief Judge Taylor J. Wine, Osage County Magistrate Judge Lori Breshears, District Court Judge Eric W. Godderz, and District Court Judge Douglas P. Witteman. Not pictured, Franklin County Magistrate Judge Kevin L. Kimball.

Powered by WordPress