Overbrook baseball team finishes season in top 4 of Kansas – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Overbrook baseball team finishes season in top 4 of Kansas

The Overbrook Bombers and coaches prepare for their semi-finals game Saturday in the Kansas Junior Legion State Tournament, at the Dean Evans Stadium, Salina, Kan. Courtesy photo.

The Overbrook American Legion Baseball Team, the Overbrook Bombers, made an impact at the 2021 Kansas Junior Legion State Tournament, placing among the top four junior league teams in the state.

The Overbrook team battled through the pool play to score a win against Junction City in the opening game of the tournament July 28; the Bombers beat the Blues 5-4 in that game. The next day at Dean Evans Stadium, Salina, Kan., the Salina Hawks knocked down the Bombers with 16 runs to Overbrook’s 5. Salina’s win helped propel them to the runner-up spot in the finals on Saturday.

Friday, Overbrook took off on another run, taking down Central-Burden, 9-4. That win sent the Bombers to the semi-finals on Saturday, where they faced McPherson’s destructive campaign, and lost after seven innings 11-1. Bomber Trenton Sleichter made Overbrook’s only run in the game in the first inning, batted in by Kyle Strother’s double to left field. McPherson later claimed the tournament title in the championship game against Salina.

“Top 4 in the state was a pretty good run for the Bombers this year,” said Patrick Graham, one of the team’s coaches. “The team battled through pool play to qualify for the semi-finals but fell to McPherson in that round. Then McPherson went on and won the state final game.

“The Bombers’ only losses at the state tournament were to the state champs and the runner-ups,” Graham said.

Graham said after the tournament, the team was notified it was the recipient of Floyd J. Rogers Sportsmanship Award 2021, Junior Division, which is presented by Kansas American Legion Baseball and determined by umpires of the tournament.

Graham said the team was notified of the Sportsman Award by the Legion director.

“He said the award is voted on by the umpires and they thought the boys were class act kids,” Graham said. The team was presented a plaque designating the honor.

The team includes Talan Long, Luke Edwards, Chad Robert, Bryce Torkelson, Colton Warthen, Jalen Smith, Kyle Strother, Trent Sleichter, Drake Graham, Theron Berckefeldt, Brodie Gleason, and Breylan Gleason; and coaches, Head Coach Quinton Sleichter, Coach Patrick Graham, Coach Jason Long, and Coach Daniel Robert.

The Overbrook Bombers were honored with the Kansas American Legion’s Floyd J. Rogers Sportsmanship Award 2021, Junior Division, for their participation in the 2021 Kansas Junior Legion State Tournament. Courtesy photo.

See related story: Overbrook Bombers set sights on state tournament

Stats thanks to David Toelle.

Powered by WordPress