Closing high school chapter, Osage City graduates begin next installment of life – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Closing high school chapter, Osage City graduates begin next installment of life

OSAGE CITY, Kan. – In front of family, friends, classmates and well-wishers, the Osage City High School class of 2022 closed one chapter of their lives and opened the next on Sunday, May 15, 2022.

The class’s two honor students, Hannah Jones and Bryson Murphy each described their sadness and fears about the end of their Osage City school years, but encouraged their classmates to not forget the good times and relive the happy moments.

“When I think about my time here at Osage I remember the good times,” Murphy said. Reviewing some of the good memories of his high school years, “It was everything to me,” he said. But as the class was making memories, they were also preparing for the next chapter, Murphy said he realized recently.

“I am ready for college,” he said. “I am ready for what’s next to come in life. But I am not ready to leave this. Leave family. Leave this home.”

He urged his friends to see how much they’ve grown, but to continue to grow.

“Let’s all take a deep breathe together,” he said. “It is time for us to begin our next chapter – not alone and afraid, but together and afraid.”

Jones thanked those who helped the graduates get to the final pages of their high school chapter. “Each of us have helped us get to this day,” she said.

Jones reviewed the class’s four years at Osage City High School, noting their junior year presented unexpected challenges.

“The school year began with temperature checks, masks and social distancing,” she said. Subsequently, the students learned about contact tracing and quarantining, all of which led to online learning.

“As the school year progressed, this became the new normal,” Jones said.

Jones thanked Osage City High School Principal Tony Heward for choosing the 2022 class as  his last at the school, as he was there for all of the class’s high school years.

“Four years goes by quickly,” Jones said, noting one important lesson she learned was “how important it is to live in the moment. Don’t rush or wish time away. Because it goes by plenty fast by itself.”

But she urged her friends to notice, “Even though it doesn’t seem like it now, high school is just a tiny part of our lives.”

“Our time has come to move onto the next chapter in our lives,” she said.

With Kathy Camarena, high school counselor, presenting the class for graduation, USD 420 Board of Education members Kelli Bowin and Todd Peterson awarded diplomas to 44 Osage City High School class of 2022 graduates: Brian Lee Bailey, Alexander Lane Boner, Jayce Tylor Brenner, Kaylyn Rose Burk, KayLee Ann Butcher, Jerra Helene Butterfield, Garrett Samuel Croucher, Grace Josephine Croucher, Gavin Robert DeBaun, Elizabeth Marie Devoll, Joseph Robert Drake, Garrett Lee Fager, Lucas Jerald Goodyear, Trenton Elijah Green, Kassandra Leigh Hamblin, Savannah Elizabeth Hamman, Rylea LeAnn Hon, Cora Ellen Hopke, Juan David Jasso-Vargas, Tanner Thomas Jenkins, Hannah Rene Jones, Mila Lianna Little, Brody Lane Littrell, Ashlyn Rose McCoy, Shawnecey Michael McIntosh, Kason James Moon, Garet William Morris, Mickey Mullican, Trinity Katelynn Mullins, Bryson Taul Murphy, Riley Gale Patterson, Eden Olivia Punches, Connor Ashton Reed, Hailey Jo Robertson, Jackson Lee Sage, Tyler Dwayne Sage, Tanner Jacob Schaefer, Taylor Christine Schmitendorf, Dallie Cheyenne Senft, Jonathen Alan Smith, McKenna Nicole Stump, Luke Alexander Testerman, Tanner Nathan Theel, and Susanna Freund Thimmesch.

Junior attendants for the ceremony included Breckin Bowin, Ellie Shoemaker, Landon Boss, Kaden Kirkpatrick, Greta Crawford, Weston Dunbar, Pearl Kautzman and Trevor Medlen.

Troy Hutton is USD 420 superintendent; Tony Heward is high school principal.

USD 420 Board of Education members include Katrina Bellinger, Tyler Parsons, Kelli Bowin, Todd Peterson, Corey Linton, and David Williams.

The OCHS class of 2022 motto is: “You miss 100 percent of the shots you don’t take.” – Michael Scott, Wayne Gretzky

Powered by WordPress