Willing Workers’ nominees Jason and Amy Gilliland honored as Friends of 4-H – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Willing Workers’ nominees Jason and Amy Gilliland honored as Friends of 4-H

Jason and Amy Gilliland, Osage County Friends of 4-H.

By Avery Thielen
Willing Workers Club Reporter

Jason and Amy Gilliland, owners of JAG Trucking, have always been a friend of 4-H. This year they won the Osage County Friend of 4-H Award, announced Oct. 26, 2022, at the Osage County 4-H Achievement Night, held at Lyndon High School.

The Gillilands were recognized for their contributions to local 4-H. Every year he has been involved, Jason has donated his time to prepare the pit for the Osage County Fair demolition derby, and helped at the Overbrook Osage County Fair by trucking in lime screenings. Jason is also one of the main organizers of the Touch-A-Truck event at the Osage County Fair, at Osage City. Jason and Amy, who is a 4-H alumni, donate add-on money of $20 to each 4-H member who sells an animal at the Osage County Livestock Sale, in Osage City.

Because of their help, the Willing Workers 4-H Club nominated them for this award to say thanks for helping our community and 4-H! Congratulations Jason and Amy and JAG Trucking!

Dustin Stucky recognized with 4-H Alumni Award

Dustin Stucky

The 2022 4-H Alumni Award was presented to Dustin Stucky, Osage City High School English teacher. As a former 4-H member, mainly in Saline County, he served two years as a 4-H ambassador, held almost every officer role for his club, and was the county council president while serving on the council. He also served as a 4-H camp counselor and attended two 4-H hiking trips, to Mount Rushmore, and to Philmont Ranch, New Mexico. He won grand champion swine two years, won top in state for team demo at Horse Panorama (team demo involves competitions such as quiz bowl, public speaking, and presentations. He won fourth place in the nation for team demo with his sister, Tiffany.

Today, Dustin helps the community by being the debate and forensics sponsor, and high school play director. He is involved in the Willing Workers 4-H Club, and serves as the rocketry project leader. Congratulations Dustin for winning the 4-H Alumni Award.

Willing Workers members’ achievements win awards

The Willing Workers 4-H Club received numerous awards at the Osage County 4-H Achievement Night, held Oct. 26, 2022, at Lyndon High School.

Several members received achievement awards. Receiving the Clover Pin was Ruby Stucky, Leila Wilcoxson, Reece Wilcoxson, Hadley Bosse, and Claire Newman. Paige Thielen earned an Emerald Pin, Kaiden Bosse earned a Silver Pin, and Lena Stucky earned the Silver Guard Pin. The members who received their First-Year Guard Leadership Pins were Kevin Whitmer and Jaiton Bosse. Many members were recognized as record book winners.

In the junior division, Leila Wilcoxson won entomology; and Claire Newman won foods, pets, photography, plant science, poultry, rabbits and visual arts. In the intermediate division, Reese Wilcoxson won pets and visual arts; and Kevin Whitmer won plant science, poultry and sheep. Kevin Whitmer received the treasurer officer book award; and Brody Thompson received the historian officer book award. Jaiton Bosse and Brody Thompson will be joining the Ambassador Team. Congratulations to all award winners!

Willing Workers award winners, front from left, Clara Thielen, Ruby Stucky, Paige Thielen, Kassie Thielen, Mason Newman and Hadley; middle, Lena Stucky, Avery Thielen, Claire Newman, Kaiden Bosse and Jaiton Bosse; back, Jason and Amy Gilliland, Kevin Whitmer, Cole Thompson and Brody Thompson.

Photos submitted by Avery Theilen.

Powered by WordPress