Santa Fe Trail High School sends 54th graduating class out on the trail – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Santa Fe Trail High School sends 54th graduating class out on the trail

Santa Fe Trail High School class of 2024. SFTHS photo.

On a mostly sunny spring Saturday, Santa Fe Trail High School held its 54th commencement exercises, May 11, 2024, sending 86 members of the SFTHS class of 2024 out into the world toward new experiences.

Santa Fe Trail Band provided “Pomp and Circumstance” and the SFT Choir serenaded with “Bridge Over Troubled Water.” Student Council President Whitney Herren and USD 434 Superintendent Faith Flory welcomed the graduates’ crowd of friends, family and well-wishers to the school near Carbondale, Kan.

SFTHS Principal Patrick Graham introduced 2024 salutatorian Noah Burgoon, who introduced this year’s SFT valedictorian Drake Graham. Both of the scholars encouraged their classmates to remember their time at Santa Fe Trail High School and use the knowledge to face inevitable challenges ahead.

“The experiences that we have had in these halls are what have shaped us into the people we are today,” Burgoon said. “The memories that have been made in these halls will journey with us.”

The salutatorian said lessons picked up along the way will help when encountering obstacles in the future, even if unsuccessful. “Remember, every setback is a setup for a comeback,” Burgoon said.

“Embrace the challenges, for they are the stepping stones to your success,” he said. “Be fearless in the pursuit of your dreams, and never underestimate the power of your own potential. Always remember, the greatest power you possess is the power to believe in yourself.”

“Graduates, the world is waiting for you to make your mark!” he said.

Valedictorian Graham noted how fast high school years had past, during which he had the “privilege” of being the principal’s son. Although he didn’t need to be concerned about going to the principal’s office during his high school years, “No worries, he kept every single hallway interaction completely awkward.”

“It feels like yesterday we were navigating the halls as freshmen,” Graham said. “But, look at us now, ready to go into the world to make our mark.”

The valedictorian advised his classmates to remember Santa Fe Trail High School as they faced the future.

“As we start the journey beyond these halls, success is not about avoiding failure,” Graham said. “Failure is inevitable. It allows a new path to be taken to follow your dreams.

“When you find success, never forget the roots from which you have grown. It is the foundation of your journey.”

“Embrace the challenges, celebrate the victories, always stay true to yourself, and may your future be as bright as your potential,” he said. “Yes, our high school journey may be ending, but our lives are just getting started.”

With presentation by Principal Graham, and recognition of the class by USD 434 Board Member Kylie Hastings, members of the USD 434 Board of Education presented diplomas to the 2024 graduates of Santa Fe Trail High School: Olivia Kathleen Adams, Logan Michael Amborski, Trinity Danielle Ban, Lucas Clayton Bellew, Korbin Myles Brady, Colson Lee Branson, Braegan Lynn Buessing, Noah James Burgoon, Logan Alexander Caskey, Abigail Jean Clark, Justin Michael Cole, Ryan Gabriel Cook, Caden Joel Cool, Jesse Grant Craig, Cheyenne Dene’ Cranor, Hailee Ann Crosland, Deacon Michael Wayne Crumpton, Alazay Enrique Dempsey, Abigail Kaylyn Dinger, Luke Andrew Edwards, Nicolas Wade Emerson, Kaysha Nicole Florance, Cole Roben Flory, Kierra Nicole Fuller, Ayden James Gaines, Michael Shaun Gallagher Jr., Gabriella Rose Garcilaso, Halia Leilani Lynn Garman, Drake Aaron Graham, Luke Thomas Greenfield, Riley August Guenther, Kendall Autumn Halley, Maria Lyanne Ham, Cody John Harmon, Tori Jo Hastings, Andrew James Henning, Whitney Lynn Herren, Chayse Brian Jeanneret, Alexis Marie Kelly, Garin Jayce Leroy Kincaid, Daria Leree Kisslinger, Aden James Kitten, Quincy Ann Koger, Ashlyn Rachel Lester, Emerson Paige Lewis, Chandler Marie Lill, Talan Jason Long, Isabel Tzaquoria Macias-Guffy, Natasha Martin, Ashley Renee’ Masters, Brandon Riley McGregor, Sarah Elizabeth Meier, Evan David Metzler, Owen Doss Michaelis, Alijah Moreno, Brock Jacob Neidhardt, John Paul Nievar, Andrew Parkhill, Bain Randall Pickett, Olivia Ann Ralston, Chad Matthew Robert, Landrie Nicole Rolla, Kenzie Rose, Chase Marvin Seachord, Jeremy Lee Shreve II, Cody Stanton Slavin, Trenton Kenneth Sleichter, Hally Rachelle Smith, Sky Rebel Smith, Jayden Dean Spencer, Logan Nathaniel Starr, Gracey Elizabeth Sterling, Garett Cain Stinebaugh, Kyle Allen Strother, Hunter Dean Terrell Tantaros, Dominick Tyler Thompson, Kaitlyn Thompson, Owen Mark Tomlinson, Bryce Mitchell Torkelson, Ashlind Tucker, Toni Renee Virgo, Colton Michael Warthen, Kaelee Marie Washington, Aaron Glenn Welton Jr., Lane Thomas Workman, and Wylie Earl Young.

USD 434 Board of Education members include Tanner Black, Braden Anshutz, Stephenie Ganger, Kylie Hastings, Bob Hug, Justin Ramsdell, and Michelle Schmale. Also presenting diplomas were past USD 434 board members Liz Clark and Jason Supple.

Senior class sponsors for the SFTHS class of 2024 were Tosha Smith and Melissa Strother. Junior ushers for the commencement exercises were Lauren Fund, Katie Piper, Tyler Bolt and Breylan Gleason.

Santa Fe Trail Class of 2024 Scholarship Recipients

  • Alfred D. Herlan Golf Scholarships, Ashley Masters, and Lane Workman
  • The American Legion Anderson-Raibal Scholarships, Drake Graham, and Hally Smith
  • Boudeman-Ferrill Memorial Scholarship, Cole Flory, and Trent Sleichter
  • Carbondale Lions Scholarship, Chayse Jeanneret
  • Dr. James L. Ruble Jr. /Kansas State Bank Scholarships, Whitney Herren, and Chayse Jeanneret
  • First Security Bank of Overbrook, Sarah Meier
  • Getting Up From The Fall Scholarship, Maria Ham, Whitney Herren, Ashlyn Lester, Chandler Lilt, and Hally Smith
  • Jim Mercer Memorial, Drake Graham
  • Kale Cauthon Memorial Scholarship, Hailee Crosland, and Chayse Jeanneret
  • Larry Raby Memorial Scholarship, Ashley Masters
  • Lynch Memorial Scholarships, Ashley Masters, and Sarah Meier
  • National Honor Society Scholarship, Noah Burgoon, Drake Graham, and Whitney Herren
  • Robert and Debby Aldrine Scholarship, Whitney Herren
  • Scranton Lions Club Scholarships, Whitney Herren, and Chad Robert
  • SFT Educational Association Scholarship, Whitney Herren
  • Student Council Scholarships, Noah Burgoon, Abby Clark, Hailee Crosland, Drake Graham, Aden Kitten, Chad Robert, and Landrie Rolla
  • Sons of American Legion Scholarship, Maria Ham
  • SFT Foundation Scholarships:
  • Morris and Flossie Krouse-Waller, Whitney Herren, and Chayse Jeanneret
  • Overbook Family Dentistry Scholarship, Chandler Lill
  • The SFT Band Booster Scholarship, Abigail Dinger
  • Dean Tucker Family Scholarships, Abby Clark, Chad Robert, and Kaelee Washington
  • Overbrook Rotary Outstanding Boy and Girl nominees: Abby Clark, Hailee Crosland, Whitney Herren, Noah Burgoon, Drake Graham, and Chayse Jeanneret
  • KSHSAA Citizenship Award, Abby Clark and Kyle Strother

Seniors completing more than 80 community service hours: Abby Clark, 119.5; Chayse Jeanneret, 154.5; and Whitney Herren, 163.5.

Powered by WordPress