Freeze warning issued for northeast Kansas – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Freeze warning issued for northeast Kansas

At 2:11 p.m., the National Weather Service issued a freeze warning that is in effect from 10 p.m. this evening to 9 a.m. Saturday.

The warning includes all of Osage County and the counties of Coffey, Douglas, Franklin, Lyon, Shawnee, Wabaunsee, Republic, Washington, Marshall, Nemaha, Brown, Cloud, Clay, Riley, Pottawatomie, Jackson, Jefferson, Ottawa, Dickinson, Geary, Morris and Anderson.

Temperatures are forecast to range from 28 to 32 by sunrise Saturday, and the weather service warns that freezing temperatures could kill unprotected vegetation. Those with agricultural interests are advised to harvest or protect tender vegetation. Also, potted plants normally left outdoors should be covered or brought inside away from the cold.

A freeze warning means hazardous freezing conditions are imminent or highly likely.

Powered by WordPress