Car show cooks up a good time in downtown Osage City – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Car show cooks up a good time in downtown Osage City

Approximately 300 cars and motorcycles turned downtown Osage City into the place to be Saturday. Participants in the 10th Annual Cruis’n & Cook’n Auto Show lined Market Street, and along with hundreds of spectators and car and motorcycle enthusiasts, created a fair-like atmosphere on the warm spring day. The 2014 award winners were:


Gabe Lira, Louise Lira and Raymond Lira, a family of Osage City car show participants. Photo by Rick Potter.

Tom Nordling Memorial: Bruce Mishler, Lyndon

Mayor’s Choice: Mike Brenner, Osage City

Club Participation: Scikotics of Kansas City

Choice Award – Motorcycles: Debi Chrum, Osage City; Clark Wenger, Osage City; Dan Gotobed, Shawnee

Choice Award – Rat Rods: Mark Padgett, Osage City; Mark Sax, Merriam; Michael Schrick, Ottawa


Photo by Wayne White.

Choice Award – Trucks: Nick Hipsher, Topeka; Dan Gotobed, Shawnee; Stan McNees, Ottawa; Douglas Penka, Richmond; Chet Lewis, Kansas City; Ralph Knight, Topeka

Choice Award – 29 & Before: John Gottschamer, Topeka; Frank Wiseman, Wellsville; Terry Simonson, Kansas City; Dan Ricketts, Meriden; Dale Griffin, Lebo; Rollo Evarts, Scranton

Choice Award – 30s & 40s: Gary Cole, Ottawa; Ed Hartegan, Topeka; John and Glenda Carter, Lawrence; Bruce Prentice, Ottawa; Scott Thompson, Ottawa; Sam and Chris Cypret, Topeka; Danny Cowdin, Quenemo; Keith Hendrix, Topeka; Denny Tyron, Ozawkie


Photo by Rick Potter.

Choice Award – 50s: Ed Sable, Topeka; Joe and Bev Parks, Topeka; Rex Kirkland, Ottawa; Sam Humphreys, Emporia; Dwight Dunn, Carbondale; Jim Hastings, Berryton; Vicki Lozenski, Easton; Larry Roach, Emporia; Bob Player, Ottawa

Choice Award – 60s: Mike Williams, Topeka; Phil Keller, Topeka; Scott Thompson, Osage City; Keith and Marie Pearce, Topeka; Steve Clore, Herington; Kim and Sandy; Wickham, Emporia; Richard and Vicky Hill, Topeka; Dick Walborn, Bellevue, Nebraska; Dan Scott, Topeka

Choice Award – 70s: Dan Gotobed, Shawnee; Adam Burnett, Osage City; Tim Tollefson, Topeka; Steve McConnell, Alma; Pat McDiffett, Shawnee ; Bill Johnson, Topeka; Brent Hunter, Pleasant Hill; Jon Cooper, Overland Park

Choice Award – 80s & 90s: TJ Brake, Burlingame; Brad Bunger, Topeka; Jodee Rowe, Osage City

Choice Award – 2000 & After: Shawn Gillgannon, Wakarusa; Arthur Criqui, Lebo

Top 10: Carole Enfield, North Bend, Neb.; Leland McMechan, Lawrence; John and Glenda Carter, Lawrence; Lowell Seymour, Topeka; Ted Hoffman, Paola; Bruce and Diann Prentice, Ottawa; Marty Green, Topeka; Jack Benge, Topeka; Ken Mumford, Topeka

Model contest: A model contest was included again in the show this year. Children of show participants could enter a model car, truck or motorcycle of their choice they had made. Participants voted on their choice. Participants and winners of the event were Colby Hokanson, Osage City, first place; Jasper Sypher, Osage City, second place; Brady Bowin, Osage City, third place; and Breckin Bowin, Osage City.


Photo by Wayne White.


Photo by Rick Potter.


Photo by Rick Potter.

The show was hosted by Twin Lakes Cruisers. For more information, contact Richard Swarts at 785-528-3667 or email [email protected].

Powered by WordPress