4th Judicial District courts to reopen May 26 – Osage County Online | Osage County News

4th Judicial District courts to reopen May 26

OTTAWA, Kan. – The Fourth Judicial District has announced its court offices and courtrooms in Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, and Osage counties will reopen to the public on May 26, 2020. Citizens are asked to call the court office before visiting or attending court, as most hearings will be held remotely by Zoom or teleconference. Anyone with a court date is asked to call prior to the date for assistance in setting up a Zoom hearing, possibly avoiding traveling to court altogether. Court staff can also assist with common questions by phone or email, and help make arrangements for in-person hearings if needed.

Under order of the Supreme Court and with input from local public health officials, the court has developed safety precautions and will implement a plan with the following requirements. Visitors must:

  • Pass a COVID-19 screening questionnaire, developed with input from the CDC, KDHE, and local health departments.
  • Wear a mask. If you have a mask already, please bring your own. The court will have a supply of disposable masks for those who do not.
  • Use hand sanitizer.
  • Maintain six feet of social distance.

A maximum of 10 people will be allowed in a courtroom. The public will still be able to attend court, but the COVID-19 precautions will limit available seating. Anyone wishing to observe court is asked to call ahead for assistance. Some hearings will be available to view online.

For more information about the Fourth Judicial District’s COVID-19 precautions, contact John K. Steelman, district court administrator, Fourth Judicial District of Kansas, 785-242-6000. For information about procedures and access to Osage County District Court, call 785-828-4514.

Powered by WordPress