Osage County issues burn ban; county under fire weather watch – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Osage County issues burn ban; county under fire weather watch

Update:  This burn ban expired at 8 a.m. Friday, Nov. 20, 2020.


Osage County Emergency Management has issued a burn ban for the entire county, as the National Weather Service in Topeka has implemented a fire weather watch in effect this afternoon, Nov. 17, 2020, through Wednesday afternoon for most of northeast Kansas.

Osage County’s burn ban went into effect at 1:20 p.m. today and is in place until 8 a.m. tomorrow, Nov. 18, but may be extended. During the burn ban, no outside burning is allowed and all county burn permits are suspended.

The ban was put in place due to very high fire danger this afternoon. Very high fire danger and a possible red flag warning are forecast for tomorrow.

NWS’s fire weather watch was implemented at 2:32 p.m. today and will be in effect through Wednesday afternoon due to strong winds and critical fuels. The fire weather watch covers Osage, Republic, Washington, Marshall, Nemaha, Brown, Cloud, Clay, Riley, Pottawatomie, Jackson, Jefferson, Ottawa, Dickinson, Geary, Morris, Wabaunsee, Shawnee, Douglas, Lyon, Franklin, Coffey and Anderson counties.

South winds sustained at 20 to 30 mph with gusts up to 45 mph are forecast for tomorrow, with relative humidity values in the 25 to 35 percent range. Any fires that develop will likely spread rapidly. Outdoor burning is not recommended. Most vegetation has transitioned into a dormant state and is extremely susceptible to rapid fire spread.

A fire weather watch means that critical fire weather conditions are forecast to occur. Citizens are advised that issuance of red flag warnings is possible Wednesday.

For more information about the burn ban, contact Osage County Emergency Management at 785-828-3323 or the Osage County Sheriff’s Office at 785-828-3121.

Powered by WordPress