Nominating commission selects Breshears as Osage County magistrate judge – Osage County Online | Osage County News

Nominating commission selects Breshears as Osage County magistrate judge

LYNDON, Kan. – The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission has selected Lori Breshears to fill a magistrate judge vacancy in Osage County. The commission conducted public interviews of nominees for the position April 6, 2021, in Lyndon. Three people had applied for the opening.

Breshears’ new position will be effective upon her swearing-in. She currently is employed as a paralegal and victim witness coordinator for the Coffey County Attorney’s Office, in Burlington, Kan.

The magistrate judge vacancy was created when judge Shannon Rush resigned effective Feb. 1.

The 4th Judicial District is composed of Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, and Osage counties. Eligibility requirements to serve as a Kansas district magistrate judge include: Must be a resident of Osage County at the time of taking office and while holding office; must be a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; must either be a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months.

After serving one year in office, an appointed magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.

The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission includes Justice Eric Rosen, Craig Cole, Garnett, Anthony Mersman, Greeley, Phyllis Gardner and Janet Walsh, both of Lyndon, Heather Landon, Ianne Dickinson, and Forrest Lowry, all of Ottawa, and Timothy Johnson, Waverly.

See related story: 4th Judicial District committee to interview nominees for Osage County magistrate judge

Information thanks to the Kansas Office of Judicial Administration.

Powered by WordPress