MdCV FFA members honored for achievements at annual chapter banquet – Osage County Online | Osage County News

MdCV FFA members honored for achievements at annual chapter banquet

New and current officers of the MdCV FFA include, from left, Kyler Anschutz, Alyssa McCurdy, Olivia Lacey, Jace Stucker, Braden Reed, Lindsey Johnson, Wyatt Lingenfelter, Cole Lacey, Brice Marsh, and Kansas FFA Vice-President Abby Johnson. Courtesy photo.

By Jace Stucker, Chapter Reporter

The annual Marais des Cygnes Valley FFA Chapter banquet was held Friday, April 9, 2021. Approximately 83 members, family members and friends gathered at the Melvern Community Center for some good eating, awards, scholarships, and the installation of the 2021-2022 chapter officers.

An invocation from Cole Lacey was given first, and then we began the dinner with MdCV FFA providing grilled chicken and baked beans. The rest was a potluck consisting of side dishes and desserts brought by our members and their families.

We started the night with opening ceremonies, and treasurer Wyatt Lingenfelter welcomed our guest speaker, State FFA Vice President Abby Johnson, who talked about taking a chance and doing things you don’t think that you can do. She talked about trying again after you fail and practice harder after you fail.

Then our officers handed out Greenhand Degrees to Olivia Lacey, Emma Marsh, Kelsey Rice, Dalton Johnson, Haylea Bethell, Corey Criss and Wyatt Melton. The Star Greenhands included Olivia Lacey, Emma Marsh, and Kelsey Rice. We then handed out the chapter degrees to Lindsey Johnson, Jacob Weimer, Kyler Anschutz, Hannah Foxworthy, Jace Stucker, Alyssa McCurdy, Justin Brinkley and Dylon Haines.

After officers handed out the degrees, MdCV FFA Advisor Danny Rice awarded scholarships to our seniors, Brice Marsh and Izzy Toman, from sponsors, including the Lichtenauer family, MdCV FFA Chapter, and the Jill Casten Downing “Legacy of Leadership”. Other sponsors included Bo Downing, Dale and Peggy McCurdy, Don and Kelli Dickerhoof, Don and Jenise Hook, and Casten family.

After the seniors received their scholarships, Danny Rice handed out proficiency awards to Jake Weimer for ag mechanics and repair; Jace Stucker, Ag service placement; Cole Lacey, beef production placement; Kyler Anschutz, diversified agriculture production placement; Wyatt Lingenfelter, forestry placement; Braden Reed, outdoor recreation; Max Davis, service learning; and Justin Brinkley, wildlife management.

We ended the night with the induction of the new 2021-2022 FFA chapter officers, Cole Lacey, president; Wyatt Lingenfelter, vice president; Lindsey Johnson, secretary; Braden Reed, treasurer; Jace Stucker, reporter; Olivia Lacey, sentinel; and Alyssa McCurdy, Stuco representative.

Chapter degree recipients at the recent MdCV FFA banquet include Kyler Anschutz, Justin Brinkely, Dylon Haines, Lindsey Johnson, Alyssa McCurdy, Jacob McGowin, Jace Stucker, Jake Weimer, and Hannah Foxworthy.

Greenhand and Star Greenhand degree recipients were Olivia Lacey, Emma Marsh, Kelsey Rice, and Wyatt Melton.

Powered by WordPress