19 years later: Car buffs cruise into Osage City for a cookin’ good time – Osage County Online | Osage County News

19 years later: Car buffs cruise into Osage City for a cookin’ good time

Saturday, April 8, 2023, marked the 19th annual Cruis’n and Cook’n Auto show sponsored by Twin Lakes Cruisers. The downtown streets were rumbling with the thunder of cars, trucks, vans, classic, muscle, antiques, street rods, rat rods and motorcycles ranging from 1929 and before to the 2000 and after eras.

The Cruisers welcomed approximately 275 entries coming from Missouri, Oklahoma, Colorado and all parts of Kansas. Throughout the day approximately 1,000 spectators enjoyed viewing the vast array of vehicles that lined both sides of Market Street from Fourth to Seventh streets, and a portion of Sixth Street.

The participation of the entrants and spectators have continued to increase each year since the beginning. The first year, 2005, had 150 entries, in 2017, there were 325. The group has had only three cancellations throughout the 18 years, two were due to inclement weather and one due to COVID.

Through the cooperation of the local businesses, KDOT and the city allowing the closing of Market Street has allowed a top-notch setting for the participants and spectators. Local businesses have been very cooperative with the fact that the streets are closed; parking in front of their stores is altered, however, the foot traffic that goes through their store in one day surpasses a normal Saturday shopping day.

Among the many that attended the event were Osage City police officers Tom Harm and Khaelan Tapp and Osage County Sheriff Chris Wells and Undersheriff Scott Brenner, who selected one of the specialty awards, the “Thin Blue Line” award. The Cruisers chose the thin blue line flag, which stands for the sacrifice law enforcement officers of this nation make each day.

Several members of the local Boy Scout Troop along with leaders Don Bailey and Scott Farmer started the beginning of the event with a flag raising ceremony and the National Anthem. Music for the event was provided by DJ Gavin Robert.

The Twin Lakes Cruisers is a group of approximately 20 car, truck, motorcycle enthusiasts who continue to organize and sponsor the shows. The group participates in Osage City parades and in car shows throughout the county and surrounding areas. Twin Lakes Cruisers are a non-profit group and throughout the past 19 years have donated approximately $14,000 to individuals and foundations through fundraisers at car shows and hosting a silent auction and dinner. For more information and to view photos and video links, see www.cruisnandcookn.com.

The Twin Lakes Cruisers appreciate the cooperation and support of the community for this event.

Awards presented at the 19th annual Cruis’n and Cook’n Auto Show:


  • Flatland Cruisers, Emporia

Mayor’s Choice

  • Bruce Couch, Topeka

Tom Nordling Memorial

  • Adam Burnett, Osage City

Dan Noble Memorial

  • Scott Childers, Baldwin City

Craig Ogleby Memorial

  • Harry Goza, Emporia

Jody Getsinger Memorial

  • Steve Flanders, Topeka

Nobie Noble Memorial

  • Blinda Bowin, Osage City

Paul E. Lundgren Memorial

  • Walter Miller, Topeka

Thin Blue Line Award

  • David Weddle, Wakarusa

Choice Award – 29 and before

  • David Ryan, Mound City

Choice Award – 30s and 40s

  • Stan Guy, Parkville, Mo.
  • Robert Meyer, Topeka
  • Jeff Araiza, Topeka
  • Kendall and Sherma Phelps, Silver Lake
  • Roger Murray, Braymer, Mo.

Choice Award – 50s

  • Enos Perez, Humboldt
  • David Weddle, Wakarusa
  • John and Sherry Jones, Emporia
  • Choice Award – Chevy Tri-5s
  • Daryl Weibel, Topeka
  • Don Calabro, Topeka
  • Steve Flanders, Topeka

Choice Award – 60-65

  • Jack Sesler, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Cody and Jerrica Preeo, Emporia
  • Bruce Couch, Topeka
  • Randall Bruno, Scranton
  • Mike Geer, Topeka

Choice Award – 66-69

  • Emmanuel Carter, Topeka
  • Mark Tibbits, Topeka
  • Duane Scardina, Randolph
  • Jason Meyer, Hartford
  • Johnnie Redding, Gridley
  • Chance Cox, Topeka

Choice Award – 70s

  • Randy Alexander, Topeka
  • Scott Childers, Baldwin City
  • J.D. Krysztof, Baldwin City
  • Steve and Teresa McConnell, Alma
  • Bill Johnson, Topeka

Choice Award – 80s and 90s

  • Jerry Herrick, Topeka
  • Chris Burk, Scranton
  • Charles Williams, Ottawa

Choice Award – 2000 and After

  • Terry and Kay McCormick, Topeka
  • Casper Kroll, Topeka
  • Rob Goodrich, Topeka
  • Ken Rankin, Topeka
  • Rosie Solt, Belvue
  • John Hotaling, New Strawn

Choice Award – Trucks – 59 and Before

  • Larry Burnett, Melvern
  • Walter Miller, Topeka
  • Bo Branch, Topeka
  • Chuck and Steph Vervynck, Lawrence
  • Kandy Anderson, Osage City

Choice Award – Trucks – 60 and After

  • Cody and Jerrica Peero, Emporia
  • George and Sharon Kelsey, Wamego
  • Gary Clayton, Oskaloosa
  • Drexel Williams, Osage City
  • Gary Rose, Ottawa
  • Randy Wilkinson, Council Grove
  • Ken Rankin, Topeka

Choice Award – Motorcycles

  • Mike Usrey, Topeka
  • Kenny Waterer, Silver Lake
  • Choice Award – Rat Rods
  • Russ Barkhurst, Jr., Topeka
  • Mark Chalmers, Mayetta

Top 10

  • Dwayne McMillan, Berryton
  • Mike Sanson, Clay Center
  • Cliff Smith, Olathe
  • Norval and Janet Green, Oak Grove, Mo.
  • Harry Brown, Independence, Mo.
  • Allen Higbee, Topeka
  • Dustin Kadous, Topeka
  • Rod and Maureen Mills, DeSoto
  • Penny Knight, Olathe
  • Reece Knight, Olathe

Information, show results and photo thanks to Jeanette Swartz, Twin Lakes Cruisers.

Powered by WordPress